HinduPost is the voice of Hindus. Support us. Protect Dharma

Will you help us hit our goal?

HinduPost is the voice of Hindus. Support us. Protect Dharma
8.5 C
Saturday, June 10, 2023

Navratri: Hindu festival celebrating the Divine feminine power

Hindu Dharma is all about celebration and we have numerous celebrations all through the year. Navratri is a celebration of Devi Shakti as Navdurgas in particular and that of feminine divinity in general. We celebrate Devi Durga in Her nine forms and all three Devis Durga, Lakshmi and Saraswati during the course of ten days. The first three days are for Devi Durga, the next three for Devi Lakshmi and the last three are for worshipping Devi Saraswati.

The four Navratris

Mahakala Samhita says that there are four Navratris in a Hindu year; Chaitra, Sharad, and two Gupt Navratris namely Magh Gupt Navratri and Ashada Gupt Navratri. Depending on the Yuga each of the Navratris becomes significant during that Yuga.

Chaitra Vasant Navratri is the most important one in Satya Yuga, Ashada Gupt Navratri in Treta Yuga, Magh Gupt Navratri in Dwapar Yuga and Sharad Navratri becomes the most significant of the four during the present Yuga i.e. Kali Yuga.

Navratri is a nine nights and ten days Hindu festival that celebrates the victory of Devi Durga over the Asura Mahishasura. Although different texts mention different forms of Devi slaying Mahishasura; according to some it is Bhadrakali, some others say it is Ugrachandi and yet others say that it is Devi in the form of Katyayani who slayed Mahishasura. Vijay Dashami or Dusshera celebrates both the slaying of Mahishasura by Devi Durga and Shri Ram’s win in the battle against Ravan.

Vasant Navratri falls in the Hindu month of Chaitra, the first month in the Hindu calendar. Ram Navami, the birth of Prabhu Shri Ram, falls on the Navami tithi during Vasant Navratri. Magh Gupt Navratri is celebrated in the Hindu month of Magh mostly in the Northern parts of Bharat.

Navratri which falls in the Hindu month of Ashada is known as Ashada Gupt Navratri and also as Gayatri Navratri. Sharadiya Navratri, celebrated during Sharad Ritu in the Hindu month Ashwin, is the most significant among all four. Hence it is also known as Maha Navratri. It was in the period of Sharad Navratri that Prabhu Shri Ram prayed to Devi Durga seeking Her blessings before going into battle against Ravan.

Depending on the Sampradaya nine forms of Devi Durga are worshipped during the nine days. Shaiva Sampradaya lists the forms of Devi as Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Mahagauri and Siddhidatri.

Other Sampradayas follow their own lists of deities to be worshipped through the nine days of festivities. Whatever the forms we may worship, all are but various manifestations of Devi Durga who is ultimately Mata Parvati or Maa Shakti Herself. It is said that Devi sat on the tip of the needle to do Tapas for nine days and nights so as to acquire the necessary powers to slay Mahishasura.     


Nine forms of Devi Durga worshipped during Navratri are Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Mahagauri and Siddhidatri. These nine forms correspond with the different life phases of Devi Parvati.

At the beginning of the universe when Shakti was needed for completing the process of creation Mahadev separated Adi-Shakti from the left half of His body and Devi then appeared in the form of Siddhidatri to help complete the process of creating the universe and all life forms contained within it.

Kushmanda means one who can dwell inside the sun. When Devi took the form of Siddhidatri she dwelled in the centre of the sun and hence the name Kushmanda. Shiva is incomplete without Shakti which is detrimental to the universe. Therefore, Devi had promised to be reunited with Him at the appropriate time. To fulfil this wish She took birth as Sati in Daksh Prajapati’s house. The unmarried form of Devi Sati is worshipped as Devi Brahmacharini.

After giving up Her life as Sati, as a result of Daksh’s insult of Mahadev, Devi was reborn as Parvati so as to be ultimately united with Shiva. Parvati was the daughter of Himalaya and hence She is known as Shailputri meaning daughter of the mountain. The next form of Devi is Mahagauri. She acquires this name because of Her fair complexion. After marrying Bhagwan Shiva, She begins wearing ardh-chandra on Her forehead which gives Her the name Chandraghanta.

When Bhagwan Skanda (Kartikeya) is born She is given the name Skandamata meaning mother of Skanda. Devi Parvati takes the form of Kalaratri to kill Asuras Shumba and Nishumba. Since Her skin is dark in colour She is called Kalaratri. In order to fight and slay Mahishasura, Devi Durga took the form of Katyayani. She is a warrior goddess who is a combination of the energies of all Devas. It is said that She was pleased with the years of Tapas of Rishi Katyayan and incarnated as his daughter. Therefore, She was given the name Katyayani. 

The first three days are for worshipping Devi Durga who is an embodiment of Shakti. The next three days are for Devi Lakshmi who represents wealth and prosperity and the last three days are dedicated to Devi Saraswati. This implies moving from the materialistic to the spiritual realm which comes from acquiring knowledge.

Whatever the form of Devi that we worship and the style of celebration that we undertake, the ultimate goal is to realise that it is from Shakti that all creation emerges and it is into Shakti that everything will be withdrawn ultimately. Hindu Dharma is the only religion that celebrates the feminine in all Her glory.   

Subscribe to our channels on Telegram &  YouTube. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

Related Articles

A opinionated girl-next-door with an attitude. I'm certainly not afraid to call myself 'a proud Hindu' and am positively politically incorrect. A Bharatiya at heart who loves reading, music, sports and nature. Travelling and writing are my passions.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles

Sign up to receive HinduPost content in your inbox
Select list(s):

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.