HinduPost is the voice of Hindus. Support us. Protect Dharma

Will you help us hit our goal?

HinduPost is the voice of Hindus. Support us. Protect Dharma
23.1 C
Monday, May 29, 2023

4 of 9 SIMI terrorists given death penalty for serial bombing during Narendra Modi’s 2013 Patna rally

4 of the 9 SIMI terrorists convicted in the 2013 serial bombing of then Gujarat CM Narendra Modi’s Patna rally have been awarded the death penalty.

4 SIMI terrorists get death penalty

The special NIA (National Investigation Agency) pronounced death sentence for 4 SIMI terrorists who had been convicted in the 2013 Patna serial blasts in October this year. Among the other convicts, two were given life imprisonment while three were sentenced to 10 and 7 years imprisonment.

Imtiyaz Ansari, Haider Ali, Numan Ansari, and Mojibullah Ansari have been given the capital sentence, Umer Siddiqui and Azharuddin are the accused who have been awarded life imprisonment, 10 year jail term has been handed to accused Ahmad Hussain and Firoj Aslam while Ifteqaar Alam has been sentenced to 7 years imprisonment.

Multiple blasts rocked Patna on October 27, 2013 including Gandhi Maidan where BJP’s Hunkar rally was underway and Patna Railway Junction. Cases were registered on November 1, 2013. Six people were killed and more than 89 were injured in the six explosions that took place at Gandhi Maidan.

On April 24, 2014, a combined chargesheet was filed against one accused while a supplementary chargesheet was filed against 10 persons on August 22, 2014. The Patna Juvenile Justice Board convicted one of the juvenile accused while charges against a deceased accused have been abated.

SIMI terrorists convicted for Modi’s Patna rally blasts

On October 27, the NIA Special court had convicted 9 SIMI terrorists in connection with the Patna serial blasts but had not pronounced the quantum of punishment.

Hindustan Times report on the court proceedings says:

Special public prosecutor Lalan Kumar Sinha, who represented NIA in the court, said nine of the total 10 accused were convicted under various sections of the Indian Penal Code, including under 302 (murder), besides sections of Unlawful Activities Prevention Act, Explosives Act and the Railways Act. Sinha said all convicts were members of the banned outfit, Students’ Islamic Movement of India (SIMI).

Additional district and sessions judge of the special NIA court, Gurwinder Singh Malhotra, which has held nine people guilty, let off the 10th accused, Fakruddin, for want of evidence…

…Sinha said five of the convicts have already been held guilty in the 2013 Bodh Gaya blasts case. He said he has demanded death sentences for all accused.

In its charge sheet, NIA said that the accused had planned the Patna blasts after they failed to get close to Modi at his previous rallies in New Delhi, Chhattisgarh and Uttar Pradesh.

(Featured Image Source: Hindustan Times)

Subscribe to our channels on Telegram &  YouTube. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles

Sign up to receive HinduPost content in your inbox
Select list(s):

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.