HinduPost is the voice of Hindus. Support us. Protect Dharma

Will you help us hit our goal?

HinduPost is the voice of Hindus. Support us. Protect Dharma
22 C
Thursday, June 8, 2023

Did you know? Justice Party, of ‘Periyar’ fame, had supported the Jallianwala Bagh massacre

Bharat’s true history has been so distorted and buried by Marxist historians and other vested interests, that astonishing new facts keep emerging ever so often.

The Justice Party of India was founded in 1916 in then Madras Presidency by Dr. C. Natesa Mudaliar and co-founded by T. M. Nair, P. Theagaraya Chetty and Alamelu Mangai Thayarammal. In 1919, the entire nation erupted in protests against the Rowlatt Act which authorized the British colonial government to imprison or confine, without a trial, any person associated with ‘seditious’ activities.

It is the protest over this Act which led to the infamous Jallianwala Bagh massacre in Amritsar, Punjab on April 13, 1919. British General Dyer ordered his troops to open fire on the jam-packed park where men, women and children had gathered peacefully on the day of Baisakhi. 1650 rounds were fired in just 10-15 minutes and firing ceased only after the ammunition ran out. Over 500 are believed to have died.

Shockingly, Justice Party founders TM Nair and P. Theagaraya Chetty approved of the British action and the massacre at Jallianwala Bagh, as per the book Politics and Social Conflict in South India by Eugene F. Irschick, excerpts of which were shared by the informative twitter handle @realitycheckind

The reason for the Justice Party’s support for British actions, as per this book? Most of the individuals criticized by the British Rowlatt Report were Brahmins, including Lokmanya Tilak. Another reason was the Justice Party’s interest in acquiring a protected position in the new Legislative Councils proposed by the British as part of Montagu–Chelmsford reforms, wherein landlords, zamindars and Government loyalists could get elected through special constituencies.

In 1939, EV Ramasamy (EVR) aka ‘Periyar’ took over the presidency of the Justice Party and in 1944 he changed its name to Dravidar Kazhagam (DK), the precursor to today’s DMK. From 1940 onwards, EVR advocated for an independent Dravida Nadu free of ‘Aryan’ influence, and supported the Muslim League demand for Pakistan. EVR met with Jinnah, Ambedkar and the British to push his idea of a trifurcation of Bharat. In 1949, DK split and a new political outfit DMK was formed by CN Annadurai. However, the Dravida Nadu idea never found traction with other southern states, and DMK changed the demand to ‘independent Tamil Nadu’. This demand for an independent nation was finally dropped by DMK in 1963.

Subscribe to our channels on Telegram &  YouTube. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles

Sign up to receive HinduPost content in your inbox
Select list(s):

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.